Student Honors & Announcements 2020

WFU Biology Announcements


Mariel O’Connor won the Carolina Biological Supply Company Undergraduate Research Award.

Lydia Faber won the Walter S. Flory Outstanding Student in Biology Award.

Julia McElhinny won the Elton C. Cocke Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Student.

Dr. Noah Bressman (’20) won the Elton C. Cocke Award for Outstanding Biology Graduate Student.

Ellen Quinlan won the Outstanding Biology Graduate Teaching Award.



The following students were initiated into the Wake Forest Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa:

Phi Beta Kappa

Biology Majors
Grace Elizabeth Anderson
Katharine A Cunnane
Thomas Paul Vander Woude

Biology Minors
Mary Britton Anderson
Karen Elizabeth Brosko
Ella JoAnne Bruggen
Nolan Michael Green
Madison Amy Kalk
Isabel Ann Mohn
Sean Max Muir
Jordan Neoma Pizzarro
Adam Jay Polikoff
Katherine Kyle Reed
Kasey Alexandra Rohleder
Paul Keegan Rose
Gabriel James Sowards

BMB Majors
Grace Franzese
Callie Elizabeth Ollish
Molly Hannah Sohn
Celia Wenning Zhou

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest and most prestigious academic honor society for the liberal arts.
Less than 10 percent of undergraduates in the liberal arts and sciences are selected for lifetime membership.



Name – Major
Mohamed Ahmidouch – Biology / Chemistry
Yujia (Alice) Cai – Biology / Mathematical Statistics
Francis Reed Fedowitz – Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Kelsey Flores – Biology
Grey Hyatt – Biology
Cameron Munley – Biology / Anthropology
Colleen Riley – Biology
Rebecca Walker – Biology

Richter Scholarship Program awards are the largest single awards on campus for the purpose of independent study. Students are encouraged to pursue enriching, broadening projects that have the promise of being life-changing. To enrich the independent study experience, each student is required to have a faculty mentor for his or her project.



Name – Major
Matthew Bagby – Biology
Jialin Chen – Chemistry / Molecular Biology
Xuanyu (Faye) Fang – Biology
Danielle Farinella – Biology / Chemistry
Daniela Gonzalez (supported by the Office of the Provost) – Biology
Tien-Chi (Jason) Hou – Biology
Quinton Loy – Biochemistry & Molecular Biology / Psychology
Jessica Moser (supported by the Center for Functional Materials) – Biochemistry
Ana Rivas-Chavez – Biology
Kelvin Tran – Biology
Rebecca Walker – Biology
Hannah Watson – Biology
Hongyi Xu (supported by the Office of the Provost) – Biochemistry & Molecular Biology / Philosophy

Wake Forest Research Fellowships (WFRF) are designed to provide students with the opportunity to participate in intensive scholarship under the mentorship of a Wake Forest University faculty member across the summer months. The Wake Forest Research Fellowship will support projects mentored or co-mentored by Reynolda College faculty.



Name – Major
Danielle Medina-Hernandez (’18) – Biology, Denmark

Congratulations to the students or recent alumni that have been selected for U.S. Student Fulbright Program Study/Research Scholarships or English Teaching Assistantships for the 2020-21 award cycle. Due to COVID-19 concerns, most of these placements will begin in January 2021.


Read more about the Student Honors and Announcements in the Dean’s Office Digest:
Spring 2020 Honors & Announcements