Faculty Honors & Announcements 2021

WFU Biology Announcements


The following faculty members are retiring in 2020-2021. Thank you for your incredible dedication and commitment over the years!

Dr. Carole L. Gibson
photo carole gibson

Dr. Kathleen A. Kron
photo kathleen kron



Dr. Regina Joice Cordy was awarded the Graduate Student Association Faculty Excellence Award for Outstanding Mentorship at WFU.
photo RJ Cordy



Dr. Sarah McDonald Esstman was awarded the Robert & Debra Lee Faculty Fellowship effective July 1, 2021.



Listed below are the names of faculty and staff who directly supported this year’s candidates through their work as part of review and selection committees for various awards.

Goldwater Nomination and Selection Committee
Dr. James B. Pease
james pease photo

UK Awards Committee
Dr. Gloria K. Muday
Photo Gloria Muday

Over the past year, more than 30 faculty, staff, and alumni came together to support Wake Forest students as they pursued prestigious scholarship opportunities along with some of the finest young minds in the country. This work involved reviewing student applications, interviewing candidates, and offering tailored feedback to help strengthen the students’ materials. Committee members also served on mock interview panels to help prepare students who made it to the finalist rounds of their competitions. This collective network of support selected 50 Wake Forest nominees for the most competitive of national awards, which require university nomination.

Such vital service helps expand our students’ understanding of what is possible to achieve and the value of their own accomplishments. This also demonstrates our faculty’s commitment to the Teacher-Scholar ideal, and speaks to the commitment of staff members, alumni, and the collective campus community that is tremendously invested in our students’ development.


You can read more about the Faculty Honors and Announcements in the Dean’s Office Digest:
Spring 2021 Honors & Announcements